Spatial ETL processes

ETL-Prozess in Talend
ETL-Prozess in Talend

Spatial ETL processes map geodata and geodata models in the domain of GIS and are a logical step towards the automation and standardization of processes and workflows. In public authorities and companies it is becoming more and more important to structure and provide large amounts of geodata as automated as possible. These so-called data integration solutions can be mapped via spatial ETL processes.

ETL describes the data handling process starting with the loading / merging of different data sources, the data transformation and the output of the data stream. The E stands for Extraction, T for Transformation and L for Load. There are different modeling and ETL tools for geodata, for example FME, GeoKettle or the Spatial Extension from Talend.

These Spatial ETL tools are based on a graphical user interface which is used to create and execute a processing script. Thus the tools are ideally suited to enable spatial ETL processes to be traced by users without programming knowledge. For very computation- and data-intensive procedures, however, the performance of workflows can be significantly increased by the individual programming of scripts. We support you in the automation of processes in the GIS environment:

  • Creation of templates with various ETL tools (FME, Talend, GeoKettle ...)
  • Data preparation of old data stocks - digitizing, georeferencing, vectorizing maps, plans, aerial photographs, etc.
  • Data conversion, data transformation, geocoding
  • Shell-scripting or Python-scripting for recurring workflows

Räumliche ETL-Prozesse

ETL-Prozess in Talend
ETL-Prozess in Talend

Räumliche ETL-Prozesse bilden Geodaten und Geodatenmodelle in der Domäne von GIS ab und sind ein logischer Schritt hin zur Automatisierung und Standardisierung von Abläufen bzw. Workflows. In Behörden und Unternehmen wird es immer wichtiger, große Geodatenmengen möglichst automatisiert zu strukturieren und bereitzustellen. Diese sogenannten Datenintegrationslösungen können über räumlichen ETL-Prozesse abgebildet werden.

ETL beschreibt den Datenverarbeitungsprozess angefangen vom Laden / Zusammenführen unterschiedlicher Datenquellen, der Datentransformation und der Ausgabe des Datenstroms. Das E steht für Extraktion, T für Transformation und L für Load. Es existieren verschiedene Modellierungs- und ETL-Tools für Geodaten, zum Beispiel FME, GeoKettle oder die Spatial Extension von Talend.

Diesen Spatial ETL-Tools liegt eine graphische Benutzeroberfläche zugrunde mit deren Hilfe ein Verarbeitungsscript erstellt und ausgeführt wird. Damit sind die Tools bestens dazu geeignet das räumliche ETL-Prozesse von Bearbeitern ohne Programmierkenntnisse nachvollzogen werden können. Für sehr rechen- und datenintensive Prozeduren kann jedoch die Leistungsfähigkeit von Workflows durch die individuelle Programmierung von Scripten deutlich gesteigert werden. Wir unterstützen Sie bei der Automatisierung von Abläufen im GIS-Umfeld:

  • Erstellen von Templates mit verschiedenen ETL-Tools (FME, Talend, GeoKettle …)
  • Datenaufbereitung von Altdatenbeständen – Karten, Pläne, Luftbilder, etc. digitalisieren, georeferenzieren, vektorisieren
  • Datenkonvertierung, Datentransformation,  Geokodierung
  • Shell-scripting oder Python-Scripting für wiederkehrende Workflows