STOFFBILANZ

The model system STOFFBILANZ (www.stoffbilanz.de) is a complex tool for modelling water, sediment and nutrient flows in catchment areas. It serves to make contributions to water management planning and the derivation of mitigation options in order to reduce sediment and nutrient emissions into waters. STOFFBILANZ is a model developed for the mesoscale and mediates between large-scale and small-scale processes. A detailed model description is available here.

Stoffpfade
Nitrate and phosphorus pathways

Users and application areas

Within the framework of various studies funded by the Federal Government and the Länder (e.g. Saxony, Baden-Württemberg, Saxony-Anhalt, Rhineland-Palatinate, Lower Saxony), associations, dam administrations and research institutions, the modelling of soil erosion by water and of sediment, nitrogen and phosphorus inputs in river basins was carried out. In this context the model STOFFBILANZ was established and successfully applied, optimised and further developed in many areas of Central Europe and meanwhile also in Asia and Africa.

Fields of application

In Germany, STOFFBILANZ model is mainly used in connection with the implementation of the EU Water Framework Directive (WFD), the Fertiliser Ordinance and the obligations to achieve the marine protection goals. The model results for nitrogen and phosphorus inputs can be used to derive reduction requirements for achieving environmental quality objectives and meeting environmental quality standards. Scenario calculations are used to assess the potential for reducing substance inputs. The focus here is on measures in the field of urban water management and agri-environmental measures in agriculture.

What can STOFFBILANZ do?

Modelling with STOFFBILANZ includes both Soil erosion by water and sediment, nitrogen and phosphorus inputsthe main sources and paths of input are identified and calculated for each specific natural area and use. The results represent spatially differentiated orders of magnitude of substance inputs.

As a balance sheet model, STOFFBILANZ basically allows statements on "steady-state" conditions for long-term observation periods. However, the progressive development of the model and the coupling with other process-oriented models (water balance - KLIWES and humus balance - CCB) has now made it possible to make calculations in annual steps. Depending on the data situation and requirements in the project, day-based approaches (USLEM, FAO evapotranspiration, surface runoff, ...) can also be used or integrated.

The improvement of the data situation with regard to digital elevation models and precipitation data, as well as the rapid developments in high performance computing, now allow us to work with very small raster resolutions. At the federal state level, modelling has already been carried out with 1m resolution and nationwide with 10m resolution.

The model STOFFBILANZ is designed in such a way that water, nitrogen and phosphorus budgets can be comprehensively calculated with varying data. Since the system is modular, individual approaches or even complete modules (e.g. groundwater path) can be replaced by coupling with other models (MODFLOW). On the other hand, STOFFBILANZ can only calculate individual modules (e.g. soil erosion) for model networks. Our long-term project experience has shown that cooperation and exchange with other modelling groups have a positive effect on the project results.

Milestones

Important milestones in model development are:

2019Increase of the raster resolution for modeling and visualization in the STOFFBILANZ-Viewer up to 10m x 10m (Germany)
2019Integration of a binary data storage in raster format hdf5 (Hierarchical Data Format) as a basis for modeling and visualization.
2019Update of the viewer interface (front-end) to improve the user logic and simplify operation, making "state of the art" design adjustments
2015The software integration of a matrix computer now allows the processing of very large amounts of data in modeling with STOFFBILANZ.
2013Provision of the web-based portal STOFFBILANZ viewer for the BMBF-funded project "SPACES - SGD" (South Africa)
2012Technological redesign of the web-based STOFFBILANZ viewer.
2012Realisation of a day-based resolution of the modelling of water flows, soil erosion, sediment input and particle-bound P-input within the BMBF-funded project "Development and implementation of a scientifically based management system for the reduction of diffuse substance inputs into the Miyun drinking water reservoir near Beijing" (FKZ 02WM1049)
2011Integration of potentials of measures to reduce soil erosion and material input for the whole of Saxony on behalf of the LfULG
2010In the research project "Biomass" of the LfULG Saxony the model is used to investigate the effects of an increasing cultivation of renewable raw materials on the water balance and water protection based on scenarios.
2009The retention for N is determined by taking into account the N uptake rate from the sediment and the residence time of the water (Nutrient Spiralling concept). Retention in still waters / dams is done separately.
2009The long-term average annual amount of P (retention) retained in the inundation area of watercourses is calculated from the amount of sediment deposited and the specific particle-bound P concentration in the sediment.
2009Consideration of groundwater residence times in unconsolidated rock by modelling the distance velocities and flow paths in the upper aquifer using a multiple-flow approach.
2009Area-wide application and further development of the model approach STOFFBILANZ_Logar in the Upper Rhine Graben within the framework of the EU project "LOGAR" (responsible LUBW Karlsruhe, LTZ Augustenberg, Region Alsace, Agence de l'eau Rhin-Meuse, DIREN Alsace, BRGM)
2008Activation of the WebGIS based STOFFBILANZ viewer.
2008Mapping of dissolved N-loads with improved inclusion of mobilisation and immobilisation.
2007Initiation of the research project "Nährstoffatlas Sachsen" on behalf of the LfULG.
2007Development of the model "STOFFBILANZ_BW" modified for Baden-Württemberg conditions to model the N inputs into the endangered groundwater bodies of BW in the context of the implementation of the EU Water Framework Directive (WFD) (in cooperation with LTZ Augustenberg)
2006Further development of the particle-bound input path by including the probability of connection of erosive areas to the river network (DFG project GR 1432/5)
2006Modelling with STOFFBILANZ in the EU project "MoNit" to quantify nitrate inputs in the Upper Rhine Graben area as a partial model in a nested approach

STOFFBILANZ

Das Modellsystem STOFFBILANZ (www.stoffbilanz.de) ist ein komplexes Werkzeug zur Modellierung der Wasser- und Stoffflüsse in Einzugsgebieten, das wir fortlaufend weiterentwickeln. Mit dem Modell werden Ist-Zustände, Bewirtschaftungsszenarien und die Ableitung von Minderungsoptionen für den Stoffeintrag in Grundwasser und Oberflächengewässer berechnet. STOFFBILANZ ist ein für die Mesoskale entwickeltes Modell und vermittelt zwischen groß- und kleinmaßstäbigen Verfahren.

Stoffpfade
Stoffpfade

Anwender und Anwendungsgebiete

Im Rahmen verschiedener von Bund und Ländern (z.B. Sachsen, Baden-Württemberg, Sachsen-Anhalt, Rheinland-Pfalz, Niedersachsen), Verbänden, Talsperrenverwaltungen und Forschungseinrichtungen geförderter Arbeiten erfolgte die Modellierung von Bodenerosion durch Wasser sowie der Sediment-, Stickstoff- und Phosphoreinträge in Flussgebieten. In diesem Zusammenhang wurde das Modell STOFFBILANZ aufgebaut und in vielen Gebieten Mitteleuropas und inzwischen auch in Asien und Afrika erfolgreich angewendet, optimiert und weiterentwickelt.

Anwendungsbereiche

In Deutschland wird STOFFBILANZ v.a. im Zusammenhang mit der Umsetzung der EU-Wasserrahmenrichtlinie (WRRL), Düngeverordnung und den Verpflichtungen zum Erreichen der Meeresschutzziele angewendet. Aus den Modellergebnissen zu Stickstoff- und Phosphoreinträgen lassen sich Minderungsbedarfe zur Erreichung von Umweltqualitätszielen und zur Erfüllung von Umweltqualitätsnormen ableiten. Mit Szenarienberechnungen werden Maßnahmenwirkungspotentiale zur Minderung der Stoffeinträge geprüft. Hier stehen Maßnahmen im Bereich der Siedlungswasserwirtschaft und Agrarumweltmaßnahmen der Landwirtschaft im Fokus.

Was kann STOFFBILANZ?

Die Modellierung mit STOFFBILANZ umfasst sowohl Bodenerosion durch Wasser als auch Sediment-, Stickstoff- und Phosphoreinträge. Die wesentlichen Eintragsquellen und -pfade werden naturraum- und nutzungsspezifisch identifiziert und berechnet. Die Ergebnisse stellen räumlich differenzierte Größenordnungen der Stoffeinträge dar.

Als Bilanzmodell lässt STOFFBILANZ grundsätzlich Aussagen zu „steady-state“ Zuständen für längjährige Betrachtungszeiträume zu. Allerdings hat die fortschreitende Entwicklung am Modell sowie Kopplungen mit anderen prozessorientierten Modellen (Wasserhaushalt – KLIWES und Humusbilanz – CCB) inzwischen Berechnungen in Jahresschrittweiten ermöglicht. Je nach Datenlage und Anforderungen im Projekt können auch tagesbasierte Ansätze (USLEM, FAO-Verdunstung, Oberflächenabfluss, …) verwendet bzw. integriert werden.

Die Verbesserung der Datenlage im Bezug auf Digitale Höhenmodelle und Niederschlagsdaten sowie die rasanten Entwicklungen im High Performance Computing erlauben es uns inzwischen mit sehr kleinen Rasterauflösungen zu rechnen. Auf Bundeslandsebene wurden bereits Modellierungen mit 1m Auflösung und bundesweit mit 10m Auflösung durchgeführt.

Das Modellsystem STOFFBILANZ ist so aufgebaut, dass Wasser-, Stickstoff- und Phosphorhaushalt bei variierenden Datenlagen umfassend berechnet werden können. Da das System modular aufgebaut ist können einzelne Ansätze oder auch komplette Module (bspw. Grundwasserpfad) durch die Kopplung mit anderen Modellen (MODFLOW) ersetzt werden. Auf der anderen Seite können von STOFFBILANZ lediglich einzelnen Module (z.B. Bodenerosion) für Modellverbünde gerechnet werden. Unsere langjährigen Projekterfahrungen haben gezeigt, dass die Zusammenarbeit und der Austausch mit anderen Modellierergruppen sich positiv auf die Projektergebnisse auswirken.

Meilensteine

Wichtige Meilensteine der Modellentwicklung sind:

2019Erhöhung der Rasterauflösung für die Modellierung und Visualisierung im STOFFBILANZ-Viewer auf bis zu 10m x 10m (bundesweit).
2019Integration einer binären Datenhaltung im Rasterformat hdf5 (Hierarchical Data Format) als Grundlage für Modellierung und  Visualisierung.
2019Update der Vieweroberfläche (Frontend) zur Verbesserung der Benutzerlogik und der Vereinfachung der Bedienung, Vornahme von Design-Anpassungen nach „State of the art“.
2015Die softwaretechnische Integration eines Matrizenrechners erlaubt nun die Verarbeitung sehr großer Datenmengen in der Modellierung mit STOFFBILANZ.
2013Bereitstellung des webbasierten Portals STOFFBILANZviewer für das BMBF-geförderte Projekt “SPACES – SGD” (Südafrika)
2012Technologischer Neuaufbau des webbasierten STOFFBILANZ-Viewers.
2012Realisierung einer tagesbasierten Auflösung der Modellierung von Wasserflüssen, Bodenerosion, Sedimenteintrag und partikelgebundenem P-Eintrag im Rahmen des BMBF-geförderten Projekts “Entwicklung und Implementierung eines wissenschaftlich fundierten Managementsystems zur Reduktion von diffusen Stoffeinträgen in das Miyun-Trinkwasserreservoir bei Peking“ (FKZ 02WM1049).
2011Integration von Maßnahmenwirkungspotenzialen zur Minderung von Bodenerosion und Stoffeintrag für Gesamtsachsen m Auftrag des LfULG
2010Im Forschungsvorhaben „Biomasse“ des LfULG Sachsen wird das Modell eingesetzt, um die Auswirkungen eines zunehmenden Anbaus nachwachsender Rohstoffe auf den Wasserhaushalt bzw. den Gewässerschutz szenariengestützt zu untersuchen.
2009Die Retention für N erfolgt unter Einbeziehung der N-Aufnahmerate vom Sediment und der Aufenthaltszeit des Wassers (Nutrient Spiralling concept). Die Retention in Stillgewässern/Talsperren wird separat vorgenommen.
2009Die im Überflutungsbereich von Fließgewässern langfristig zurückgehaltene mittlere jährliche P-Menge (Retention) wird aus der abgelagerten Sedimentmenge und der spezifischen partikulär gebundenen P-Konzentration im Sediment berechnet.
2009Berücksichtigung von Grundwasserverweilzeiten im Lockergesteinsbereich durch Modellierung der Abstandsgeschwindigkeiten und Fließwege im oberen Grundwasserleiter über einen Multiple-flow-Ansatz.
2009Flächendeckender Einsatz und Weiterentwicklung des Modellansatzes STOFFBILANZ_Logar im Oberrheingraben im Rahmen des EU-Vorhabens „LOGAR“ (verantwortlich LUBW Karlsruhe, LTZ Augustenberg, Region Alsace, Agence de l’eau Rhin-Meuse, DIREN Alsace, BRGM).
2008Freischaltung des WebGIS basierten STOFFBILANZ-Viewers.
2008Abbildung gelöster N-Frachten unter verbesserter Einbeziehung von Mobilisierung und Immobilisierung.
2007Initiierung des Forschungsprojektes „Nährstoffatlas Sachsen“ im Auftrag des LfULG.
2007Entwicklung des für baden-württembergische Verhältnisse modifizierten Modells „STOFFBILANZ_BW“ zur Modellierung der N-Einträge in die gefährdeten Grundwasserkörper von BW im Rahmen der Umsetzung der EU-Wasserrahmenrichtlinie (WRRL) (in Zusammenarbeit mit LTZ Augustenberg).
2006Weiterentwicklung des partikelgebundenen Eintragspfades durch Einbeziehung der Anbindung swahrscheinlichkeit erosiver Flächen an das Gewässernetz (DFG-Projekt GR 1432/5).
2006Modellierung mit STOFFBILANZ Im EU-Projekt „MoNit“ zur Quantifizierung der Nitrateinträge im Gebiet des Oberrheingrabens als Teilmodell in einem genesteten Ansatz